Okay Rayia, here’s that post I especially promised to you.  And guys, be forewarned, this is all going to be ultra feminine; you may just want to skip this one. 

Perhaps it has something to do with having lived in a predominantly female household for the past month, or maybe it’s this glorious summer weather, but lately I’ve had a hankering to try things that are new and different.  I’ve been threatening to cut bangs since Ransom and I were married almost three years ago, but only now have I had the gumption to actually do it.  So Rayia (and any other gal for that matter), what do you think?

Another “new and different” thing I’ve done lately is – brace yourselves – paint my toenails!  I never thought I’d have the nerve to do that.  But, while I was at Wal-Mart earlier this week (under the influence of Paige, I will add), I timidly picked out a fun-but-still-safe shade of pink polish.  When Ransom got home later on, I sheepishly showed him the bottle and asked what he thought.  Much to my surprise, a very pleased grin spread over his face and his eyes began to twinkle.  “Very fun,” he said.  YES!  That was just what I needed to boost my confidence.  The next day, while my babies were napping, I eagerly scrubbed and clipped and painted and here is the final result:

I would like to try a slightly more “grown up” shade next, something a little darker.  This color reminds me too much of Pepto-Bismal.  Anyhow, I’m having fun rejoicing in these girly things. 

Paige took these pictures…thanks sis!  She can be so hilarious, and there were multiple times during our “photo shoot” that I simply couldn’t helping laughing at her ridiculous antics:

Here’s to sisters and all things girly!

And, just in case some guy actually read to the end of this post (i.e. my brother-in-laws), by rejoicing in femininity, I’m not saying anything negative about masculinity.  Quite the contrary.  Women who are feminine and men who are masculine desperately need each other.  This is the way God has designed it.  If we were the same, things would be pretty boring.  Opposites attract and opposites work well together.  

One of the reasons I was attracted to Ransom was because he was comfortable being a man.  He didn’t make any apologies for being a strong, opinionated, in-your-face leader.  Nor was he afraid of confidently forging ahead and boldly moving toward his goals.  Yet, at the same time, he fell in love with me because I was so unlike him.  He wasn’t attracted to a wild, daring, take-charge persona, but one of gentility, tenderness and grace.  I will add that he wasn’t attracted to me because I was wishy-washy either; I had firm convictions and strong opinions too.  But I digress…

The world needs truth; it also need mercy.  One without the other is nearly useless.  Likewise, masculine men need feminine women.  When opposites are combined, a new element is created that is dynamic and earth-shattering.  May this be true of our marriage, and all marriages that are built on Christ Jesus, to the the glory of God.

Wow, this has turned into a post about anti-feminism.  And it all started by writing about cuttin’ bangs and paintin’ toenails!

