Last Saturday, we enjoyed having five of Ransom’s six brothers over for dinner and a movie.  Here they all are sitting at the table.  L – R: Ransom (27), Remington (20), Roman (24), Roshua (14), River (16 – sorry, I didn’t get his face!) and Ridge (21).  Honour, of course, is in the highchair. 🙂

When I was thirteen, I saw the movie Seven Brides for Seven Brothers for the first time.  Little did I know that I was getting a little glimpse of what my life would be like in a few years.  Okay, not completely.  We don’t all spontaneously break into song and dance when we’re together, and I’m NOT the matchmaker that Millie was.  Nonetheless, it’s a whole lot of fun being the first of these seven brides!

The day I married Ransom, I not only became a wife but also a daughter and sister to a whole new family.  I have so much fun being a member of this family and love each one of my in-laws dearly.  I’m grateful that in God’s providence he ordained for us to be related.

On Sunday, we also enjoyed the boys’ company.  They came with us to the Meuli ranch in Dayton to help out with branding.  They crammed into our Suburban for the hour-long drive:

No, the guy in the cowboy hat is not one of the brother-in-laws.  He’s Eric, a friend from church and, believe it or not, a previous piano student of mine.  You’d never know it to look at him, would ya? 😉

My parents and siblings also came to the ranch, along with my grandpa.  Honour loved being there!  It was almost impossible to keep him indoors.  The highlight of his day was getting to ride a horse with Papa and Auntie Paige’s help:

The funny thing is, Honour is terrified of dogs, but he’ll walk right into a pen full of cows and, as the above picture testifies, very happily sit on a horse’s back.  Strange.

Here’s one more picture, this time of Remember with her Papa Wayne:

Thank-you Meulis for such a fun afternoon!  After leaving the ranch, we all packed back into the Suburban and took a beautiful drive to see one of the places that the boys lived during Ransom’s mid-teen years.  We bounced along the dirt road with the windows rolled down and an Alabama CD playing.  I thought to myself, “Yep.  This is modern-day Seven Brides for Seven Brothers!” 🙂

