As I suspect that several of my friends are checking this blog regularly, I thought I would pose a question to you all.  I was wondering if any of you had ideas for constructive activities for a twenty-month-old.   On a good day, we have regular mealtimes and nap times; I take a walk with the babies in the morning, and have a reading and playtime with Honour.  Bare in mind, this is on a good day; this is the goal, not what actually happens all the time!  

What I’m saying is, when I stick to my schedule, Honour does have specific activities throughout the day that he can look forward to.  And, I involve him as much as possible in my work, that is, as much as I can without exasperating him.  But, obviously, there are those times when I need to do a job that can’t involve him, and that’s when I’d love to be able to say, “Here, sit down and do this,” rather than, “You go figure out how to occupy yourself.”  I realize he has to learn how to entertain himself.  But I feel he has plenty of entertain-yourself-time throughout the day, and I’d like to come up with some specific activities he can do and enjoy without my involvement.  Does this make sense?

So, give me your ideas.  I don’t care if you’re male or female, married or single, or whether or not you have children.  I’d love to hear what any of you have to say!

-JESSICA

PS Don’t suggest that I give Honour a coloring time; we’ve tried it and he’s not interested yet…unless he’s allowed to eat the crayons/pencils. 🙂

